Facebook Tracking


Upload the featured image here!


Rules of the Cricket League

General requirements and spirit of the game

  • Each team commits to play all league matches.
  • All games are to start promptly at 6pm.
  • Flip a coin to decide who bats first or claim the toss. Agree it yourselves in a gentlemanly fashion.
  • Cricket balls – bring your own to exchange at games and Sellick Partnership will provide new balls at Finals Day.
  • Sledging is permitted but must be of an appropriate nature.


  • Maximum of three overs per bowler >8 ball overs >15 overs.
  • A player is allowed to score 30 runs and then retire, with no return to crease.
  • First and second place teams go through into Cup competition > Knockout.
  • Third and fourth place teams go through into Plate competition > Knockout.
  • Four leagues with four or five teams in each league.
  • Eight quarter finals, four semi-finals and two finals – Cup and Plate competitions.
  • Semi-Finals and Finals – 20 x 6 overs and LBW due to neutral umpires. All other fixtures to be played the same as last year and No leg before wicket (LBW).
  • Any ball bowled down the leg side is deemed a wide and two runs to the total with no extra ball.
  • In the last over on Finals Day, teams revert back to standard cricket rules due to having neutral umpires.
  • Batting teams will face bowling with their own provided ball. The bowling team will bowl with the batting teams ball (teams provide more than one ball during games due to loss of balls).
  • Wide runs go to extras.


  • Each team is to umpire their own team, with more experienced umping only.
  • More knowledgeable players of cricket are to volunteer for this duty.
  • Two umpires – at wicket and a square leg – with benefit of the doubt to go to the batsman.
  • Neutral umpires will be appointed for the Finals Day.

Cancellations and rescheduling

  • If a game is cancelled due to bad weather, the two captains need to decide between themselves whether they wish to rearrange the game. If they do wish to rearrange, they must agree on a suitable date and communicate this to Samantha Hattersley (mpcl@sellickpartnership.co.uk) to check pitch availability. We advise that captains and vice-captains try to rearrange all cancelled games so all fixtures are played if possible. Points will be split if captains or vice-captains decide not to rearrange the game.
  • All teams must give at least 48 hours if they need to cancel a game for other reasons to allow us to rearrange. If we do not receive 48 hours notice we will incur pitch charges which results in less funds going towards our chosen charities, so please be mindful of the notice.
  • If a game is cancelled within 48 hours, the opposing team will automatically receive the points.


  • Each team must have a scorebook and the captains must jointly sign-off the results.
  • Sellick Partnership will provide the score books to each team.
  • A team will receive two points for a win and one point for a draw.
  • A batter receives two runs for a wide ball unless it is the last over where he gets one run and an extra ball.


  • Anything above the waist height is a no ball, which includes spinners.
  • The subject of riggers is a serious concern, however we will be keeping it open. Priority goes to your firm!

Determining points

  • In the event of level points when all league games have been played, the following will apply:
  • If first and second place teams are level, the head to head result determines winner.
  •  If first, second and third place teams are level, then we will roll dice to decide!
  •  All captains and vice-captains to be designated before the start of the season. They are expected to adhere    

    to these rules, and to ensure that the games are conducted in the right manner.

Click below to download a PDF of the rules.